Site Registration | Find a Copy | Event Calendar | Site Map
The Voice of the Black Community

Local & State

Charlotte-Mecklenburg NAACP honors volunteer spirit
Annual Freedom Fund banquet is Nov. 10
Published Saturday, November 3, 2018 6:04 am
by Herbert L. White | The Charlotte Post

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg NAACP is honoring volunteers and leaders at its annual Freedom Fund Awards banquet Nov. 10.

Honorees at the gala, to be held from 6-9 p.m. at The Villages of Hope Haven Conference Center, 3815 North Tryon St., include Mecklenburg County District Attorney Spencer Merriweather with the Excellence In Leadership award, American Civil Liberties Union advocate Kristie Puckett Williams as a community champion along with Jorge Millares of Queen City Unity and community activist Brian Kasher. The President Award will be presented to the Rev. Peter M. Wherry, pastor of Mayfield Memorial Missionary Baptist Church.

“The Freedom Fund Banquet is our annual fundraiser and funds raised are used to continue our civil rights, social, environmental and just work,” said the Rev. Corine Mack, president of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg NAACP branch.  

Attendees are asked to donate $60 to support NAACP services and programs. The deadline for ticket sales is Nov. 5 by contacting Harriett Platt Mendinghall at (704) 575-2451, emailing naacp@charlottenaacp.com or Eventbrite.com.


Leave a Comment

Send this page to a friend

Upcoming Events

read all

A Need Fulfilled


2nd Saturday

July 14 – Crank the Heat What’s


Community Jazz Series (Jazz @ The Abbey)

Elements of Empowerment, Inc., in partnership

Latest News

read all

Has Black History Month lost its relevance in our America?

Teaching the past has lost its urgency

NC A&T Aggies rank second in national HBCU football recruiting

Rival NCCU has sixth-best black college signing class

Tank Town exhibit recounts historic black neighborhood

Tours at Matthews Heritage Museum